Two students from Livermore High School and two from Granada High School have been named National Merit semifinalists for 2020, and are eligible to complete a rigorous application process to become National Merit Scholars. Earning the academic honor were Elliot Ha and Sai Pryanka, from Livermore High School, and Theodore Dean and Andy Shu, from Granada High School.

Another 14 Livermore and Granada high school seniors were named National Merit Commended Scholars. Receiving letters of commendation from Livermore were Timothy Blanton, Eugene Ha, Jacob McMillin, Ranjini Nair, Angela Traugott, Avni Vachhani, Austin Weinshelbaum, Jessica Weise, Colin Weise, and Devan Zika. Receiving letters of commendation from Granada were Rebecca Bauman, Kassadi Holloway, Sejal Sahu, and Jesse Watson.

Approximately 1.6 million high school students compete in the National Merit Scholarship Program each year by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, usually as juniors. About 16,000 are named semifinalists, representing the highest scoring entrants in each state. Finalists are eligible for various college, corporate, and National Merit scholarship.

About 34,000 students nationwide earn letters of commendation in recognition of their academic promise.

Thanks to the Pedrozzi Foundation, all Livermore and Granada high school sophomores have the opportunity to take the Preliminary SAT during the school day for free, which provides early practice for the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as juniors. It also provides counselors, administrators, and students with an understanding of academic strengths that can lead to Advanced Placement courses or other challenging areas of study based on aptitude.