Democratic incumbent House member Eric Swalwell will face seven opponents in the March 3 primary election, including three others from his own party.

The top two vote-getters, regardless of party, will face off in November.

Swalwell initially announced he would not seek re-election for the seat in the 15th Congressional District, which he has held since 2013. He initially decided to forgo seeking a fourth term in order to run for president, but changed his mind after dropping out of that campaign.

Seeking the seat are Democrats Samantha Campbell, Austin Intal, and Tuan Phan; and Republicans Alison Hayden, Peter Yuan Liu, and Nisha Sharma. Don Grundmann is listed as having no party preference.

In races for the Legislature, first-term Democrat Rebecca Bauer-Kahan will face Republican Jospeh Rubay. Bauer-Kahan won a close race for the seat in 2018 against the incumbent, Republican Catherine Baker.

In the 7th Senate District, incumbent Democrat Steve Glazer will take on Republican Julie Mobley.

On the Alameda County ballot, whose offices are nonpartisan, four are running to succeed 1st District Supervisor Scott Haggerty, who will retire in early January 2021, after 24 years in office.

The candidates are Dublin Mayor David Haubert, Dublin Vice-mayor Mellissa Hernandez, State Senator Bob Wieckowski, and Fremont Councilman Vinnie Bacon.

Filing for that office was extended until 5 p.m. Dec. 11. The law requires adding five calendar days for filing if the incumbent is not running again.

In the 4th Supervisorial District, incumbent Nate Miley, whose territory includes Pleasanton, Castro Valley and parts of unincorporated Hayward and Oakland, has Esther Goolsby as his lone opponent.

At Zone 7 Water Agency, five people are running for three open seats. They are incumbents Sandy Figuers, Elizabeth Ramirez Holmes, and Dick Quigley, and challengers Hugh Bussell and Laurene Green.

Zone 7 director Michelle Smith McDonald filed to keep the seat to which she was appointed after Bill Stevens resigned. Since no one else filed for the seat by the deadline, she is automatically elected; her name will not appear on the ballot. The seat will be placed on the ballot again in 2022 for a full four-year term.