Voters will fill four Zone 7 Water Agency board seats in the March 3 ballot. Zone 7 elections occur in even-numbered years, at the state’s primary election time. In the past, those elections have occurred in June. But in 2020, the state’s presidential primary will be held March 3.

The filing period for the Zone 7 board opens Nov. 11 and closes Dec. 6. The election field is at-large. There are no geographical districts for specific seats. The top four vote-getters will be the winners. There is no subsequent run-off election.

The expiring terms are served now by Angela Ramirez Holmes, Dick Quigley, Sandy Figuers, and Michelle Smith McDonald.

Ramirez Holmes, who lives in Pleasanton, said she will be running again. She has been a board member since 2012, and served as president.

Smith McDonald of Dublin said she will run to fill out a short term, which expires later in 2020. She was appointed to the short term earlier this year after the resignation of long-time director Bill Stevens of Livermore, who wanted to spend more time expanding his business.

“I have learned much during the past six months about the critical role that Zone 7 plays in the quality of life in the Tri-Valley,” she said in an email. “I am committed to continuing to represent all of the communities served by Zone 7, with a focus on transparency, engagement in the work of Zone 7, and thoughtful decision-making.”

Quigley said he has not decided yet whether to run for another term. He was elected in 2004, and served as board president.

Quigley said in a phone interview that he is proud of his legacy in pioneering trail usage partnerships with East Bay Regional Park District and Livermore Area Recreation and Park District. He also played a big role in getting Zone 7 directors actively participating in Association of California Water Agencies. At first, he was the only director insisting Zone 7 board members attend ACWA meetings, but now six of the seven will be going to the state convention, he said.

The fourth seat is held by Sandy Figuers, a member of the board since 2008. Prior to that, he served 12 years on the board in the late 1980s and into the 1990s. Figuers was not available for comment.